Skip to content

Graduate Students

Chelsea Ackroyd

chelsea akroyd
  • Degree Program: PhD
  • email: chelsea.ackroyd@utah.edu
  • Advisor:  McKenzie Skiles
  • Research Interests: Remote sensing, climate change

Marco Allain

 Marco Allain

Vanessa Bailey

 Vanessa Bailey.
  • Degree Program: PhD
  • email: vanessajbailey@gmail.com
  • Advisor: Simon Brewer
  • Research Interests:  Climate, physical geography, geomorphology

Asmita Bhattarai

 Asmita Bhattarai

Savannah Bommarito

Savannah Bommarito

Aaron Brown

 

Wing Sze Chan

 

Wenqu Chen

 Wenqu Chen

Moongi Choi

 Moongi Choi
  • Degree Program: PhD
  • email: u1316663@utah.edu
  • Advisor: Alexander Hohl
  • Research Interests: Agent Based simulation, Spatial statistics, Health geography

Andre Coleman

Andre Coleman
  • Degree Program: PhD
  • email: Andre.coleman@utah.edu
  • Advisor: Tom Cova
  • Research Interests: Estuarine Sciences, Machine Learning in Spatial Analysis, Bioenergy and waste utilization, Water/Energy Nexus

Melanie Cooke

 Melanie Cooke
  • Degree Program: MS
  • email: mcooke99@gmail.com
  • Advisor: Mitchell Power
  • Research Interests: Paleoecology, botany, dendroclimatology

Bailey Costello

 Bailey Costello
  • Degree Program: MS
  • email: bailey.costello@utah.edu 
  • Advisor: Philip Dennison
  • Research Interests: Vegetation remote sensing  

Andrea Davis

 Andrea Davis
  • Degree Program: PhD
  • email: rounkles22@hotmail.com
  • Advisor: Neng Wan
  • Research Interests: Health geography, environmental science

Matthew De Lora

 

JD Dolinar

  • Degree Program: PhD
  • u0450627@utah.edu
  • Advisor: Kathleen Nicoll
  • Research Interests: Geoarchaeology / Environmental Archaeology

Aaron Flores

 Aaron Flores
  • Degree Program: PhD
  • Email: aaron.b.flores@utah.edu
  • Advisor: Timothy Collins
  • Research Interests: Climate & Environmental Justice

Luis Garcia

 Luis Garcia
  • Degree Program: MS
  • luis.garcia@utah.edu
  • Philip Dennison
  • Remote Sensing, GIS, Burned Biomass Emissions

Jiuying Han

 Jiuying Han
  • Degree Program: PhD
  • jiuyinghan@gmail.com
  • Advisor: Neng Wan
  • Research Interests: Medical / Health Geography, Machine Learning

Jordin Hartley

 jordin hartley

Yvette Hastings

 Yvette Hastings
  • Degree Program: MS
  • email: u1105374@utah.edu
  • Advisor: Jennifer Shah
  • Research Interests: GIS, hydrology, stream restoration, water conservation

Michael Hess

 Michael Hess
  • Degree Program: MS
  • email: michael.hess2012@gmail.com
  • Advisor: Summer Rupper
  • Research Interests: Glaciology, Hydrology, & Climate Change

Garrett Hopkins

 garrett hopkins

Zixuan Huang

 zixuan huang
  • Degree Program: MS
  • email: zixuan.huang@utah.edu
  • Advisor: Tom Cova
  • Research Interests: Natural Hazards & Transportation

Eric Johnson

 Eric Johnson

Durban Keeler

 durban keeler
  • Degree Program: PhD
  • email: durban.keeler@gmail.com
  • Advisor: Summer Rupper
  • Research Interests: Glaciology & Climatology

Meitong Liu

 Liu Meitong

Steven Lizotte

 steven lizotte
  • Degree Program: MS
  • email: Steven.Lizotte@utah.edu
  • Advisor: Neng Wan
  • Research Interests: Health Geography, GIS, Spatial Epidemiology, Climate

Jewell Lund

 Jewell Lund
  • Degree Program: PhD
  • email: lund.jewell@gmail.com
  • Advisor: Rick Forster
  • Research Interests: Snow hydrology, water resources, climate change, environmental policy, High Mountain Asia, remote sensing

Benjamin Marconi

 ben marconi

  • Degree:  PhD
  • email:  benjamin.marconi@geog.utah.edu
  • Advisor:  Andrea Brunelle
  • Research Interests:  Geochemistry, Climate Science, Paleoclimate 

Emma Marshall

 Emma Marshall

  • Degree Program: MS
  • ekm328@gmail.com
  • Research Interests: Cryosphere / Glaciology

Matthew McCullough

Matthew McCollugh

Morgan McDonnell

Morgan McDonnell
  • Degree Program: MS
  • email: u1269584@utah.edu
  • Advisor: Summer Rupper
  • Research Interests: Climate Change & Water Resources

Joachim Meyer

Joachim Meyer
  • Degree Program: PhD
  • email: j.meyer@utah.edu
  • Advisor: McKenzie Skiles
  • Research Interests: Snow Hydrology, Remote Sensing, Open Source GIS

Katherine Mistick

 Katherine Mistick

Stella Mosher

Stella Mosher
  • Degree Program: PhD
  • email: stella.g.mosher@gmail.com
  • Advisor: Mitchell Power
  • Research Interests:

    Paleoecology, fire, biogeography, climate

Shawna Nadybal

 shawna nadybal
  • Degree Program: MS
  • email: shawnanadybal@gmail.com
  • Advisor: Timothy Collins
  • Research Interests: Natural Hazards & Emergency Management

Taylor Nelson

 

Kelly O’Neill

 Kelly O'neill
  • Degree Program: MS
  • email: k.oneill@utah.edu
  • Advisor: Philip Dennison
  • Research Interests: Remote Sensing, Greenhouse Gases, Atmospheric Modeling, and Political Ecology 

Matt Olson

 Matt Olson
  • Degree Program: PhD
  • email: olsonmeu@gmail.com
  • Advisor: Summer Rupper
  • Research Interests: Glaciology, Climate, Water Resources

Dianne Pablo

 

Joel Emil Palmer

 Joel Palmer
  • Degree Program: PhD
  • email: joelepalmer@gmail.com
  • Research Interests: Hazards & Vulnerability, Population & Community, & Disaster Resilience

Hannah Peterson

 hannah peterson

Daniel Quintanilla

 daniel quintanilla
  • Degree Program: PhD
  • email: daniel.quintanilla@utah.edu
  • Advisor: Richard Medina
  • Research Interests: Terrorism, Spatial Analysis, GIS, Remote Sensing

Dillon Ragar

 Dillon Ragar
  • Degree Program: MS
  • email: dillon.ragar@utah.edu
  • Advisor: McKenzie Skiles
  • Research Interests: Remote Sensing, Ecohydrology, Snow Hydrology, Mountain Meteorology, Environmental Instrumentation

Rebecca Richards-Steed

 Rebecca Steed

Ahmad Mojtoba Riyadh

 Ahmad Riyadh

Troy Saltiel

 Troy Saltiel
  • Degree Program: MS
  • email: troy.saltiel@utah.edu
  • Research Interests: Remote Sensing, GIS, Geology, Soils, Water

Jessie Shapiro

 Jessie Shapiro
  • Degree Program: MSGIS
  • email: jessieshapp@gmail.com
  • Advisor: Neng Wan
  • Research Interests:  GIS, spatial ecology environmental modeling, applications of GIS in wildlife ecology

Matthew Shawcroft

 Matthew Shawcroft
  • Degree Program: MS
  • email: shawcroft.matt@gmail.com
  • Advisor: Andrew Linke
  • Research Interests: Political  Geography, Geoint, Extremism, Terrorism

Patrick Sullivan

 Patrick Sullivan
  • Degree Program: PhD
  • email:patrick.sullivan@utah.edu
  • Advisor: Philip Dennison
  • Research Interests: Remote sensing, Greenhouse gases, Wildfire

Julia Surkis

 

Kripa Thapa

 patrick sullivan

Douglas Tharp

 Douglas Tharp
  • Degree Program: PhD
  • email: doug.tharp@utah.edu
  • Research Interests: Urban / Economic Geography, Demography, Transportation, Public Health

Susana Velasquez-Franco

 susanna velazquez franco
  • Degree Program: PhD
  • email: susana.velasquez@utah.edu
  • Advisor: Mitchell Power
  • Research Interests: Human Paleoecology, Andes-Amazonia Paleoenvironments & Biogeography

Matthew Wood

 Matthew Wood
  • Degree Program: PhD
  • email: woodmatt52@gmail.com
  • Advisor: Tom Cova
  • Research Interests: Natural Hazards & Emergency Management

Weiye Xiao

 Weiye Xiao

Ning Xiong

 Ning Xiong

Theodore Zerivitz

 Ted Zervit
  • Degree Program: MS
  • email: 0973295@utah.edu
  • Advisor: McKenzie Skiles
  • Research Interests: Snow Science, Climate Change
Last Updated: 3/26/21