Governor’s Medal for Science and Technology Winners Announced
The award program is celebrating its 30th anniversary
SALT LAKE CITY(Jan. 5, 2017)—Gov. Gary R. Herbert, along with the Utah Science Technology and Research (USTAR) initiative and the Governor’s Office for Economic Development (GOED), today announced the winners of the 2016 Governor’s Medals for Science and Technology. The medals will be presented to 11 individuals and one company at a 30th anniversary awards dinner on Jan. 18.
“The medal recipients are true leaders in innovation, serving as educators, mentors and influencers statewide,” Gov. Herbert said. “Innovation drives Utah’s thriving economy and unmatched quality of life. I commend the winners for excellence in their fields and for their important work, which will benefit Utah residents for generations.”
Since 1987, the Governor’s Medals for Science and Technology have been awarded to residents and companies who have provided distinguished service or made significant contributions to Utah’s advanced scientific and technological knowledge, education and industry. Nominations are reviewed by an advisory panel before formally presenting winners to the governor.
This year’s 12 medals are awarded in the categories of academic/research, higher education, K-12 education, industry, government and one special recognition. The 2016 recipients are:
Robert Baskin, Ph.D.—Supervisory Hydrologist, U.S. Geological Survey, Utah Water Science Center
Rob works for the USGS and has a MS and Ph.D. in Geography from the U of U.  Read more about Rob and the award here.
Information from Michael O’Malley and Justin Berry and